Nigeria, an African country on the Gulf of Guinea, has many natural landmarks and wildlife reserves. Protected areas such as Cross River National Park and Yankari National Park have waterfalls, dense rainforest, savanna and rare primate habitats. One of the most recognizable sites is Zuma Rock, a 725m-tall monolith outside the capital of Abuja that’s pictured on the national currency. The landscape of Nigeria varies with mangrove forests and swamps bordering the southern coast, and hardwood forests further inland. The Niger and Benue River valleys make up Nigeria’s most expansive region, merging into each other to form a distinctive ‘Y’ shape. The Mambilla Plateau, the highest in the country, forms the area southeast of the Benue and is punctuated by hills and mountains, extending into the border with Cameroon. Filling in the space between the far south and far north is a vast savannah made up of three zones: The Guinean forest-savanna mosaic, Sudan savannah and the Sahel savannah. Rain falls sparsely in the Sahel savannah, located in the northeast, and subsequently, the Sahara Desert is encroaching. Nigeria’s highest point is Chappal Waddi at 7,936 ft (2,419 m); the lowest point of the country is the Atlantic Ocean (om). The country shares Lake Chad in the northeast with Niger, Chad and Cameroon.

Key Cities

Key cities in Nigeria include Lagos, Kano, Ibadan, Abuja, Benin City, ILorin, Jos, Kaduna, Enugu, warri.

Historical, Cultural facts & Religion

The history of Nigeria can be traced to prehistoric settlers (Nigerians) living in the area as early as 1100 BC. Numerous ancient African civilizations settled in the region that is today Nigeria, such as the Kingdom of Nri, the Benin Empire, and the Oyo Empire. Nigeria became a British protectorate in 1901. The culture of Nigeria is shaped by Nigeria’s multiple ethnic groups. The six largest ethnic groups are the Hausa and Fulani in the north, the Igbo in the southeast, and the Yoruba predominate in the southwest, the Tiv people of North Central Nigeria and the Efikibibio. According to a 2001 report from The World Factbook by CIA, about 50% of Nigeria’s population is Muslim, about 40% are Christians and about 10% adhere to local religions. But in some recent reports, the Christian population is now slightly lesser than the Muslim population.

Brief Country History

Nigeria officially referred to as the Federal Republic of Nigeria is a federal state in West Africa. It borders Cameroon and Chad to the East, Benin to the west, and Niger to the north. It also has a coast in the south that lies on the Gulf of Guinea in the Atlantic Ocean. Nigeria is made up of 36 cities and the Federal Capital Territory, where Abuja, the capital city is situated. Nigeria has a lot of historic empires and cultures compared to other countries in Africa. The history of Nigeria can be traced back to as early as 11,000 BC when a number of ancient African communities inhabited the area that now makes Nigeria. The greatest and the well-known empire that ruled the region before the British arrived was the Benin Empire whose ruler was known as Oba of Benin. Other tribes such as the Nri Kingdom also settled in the country, especially on the Eastern side. The Songhai Empire also settled in some of the country’s territory. By the 11th century, Islam had arrived in Nigeria via the Hausa States. In 1851, the British forces seized Lagos, which was later annexed officially in 1861. In 1901, Nigeria was made a British protectorate and was colonized until 1960, when the country gained independence. In 1963, Nigeria became a republic but fell under military rule in 1966 as a result of a coup d’état. In 1967, the Republic of Biafra was formed and this led to the three-year Nigerian Civil War. The country became a republic again in 1979 after a new constitution was drafted. The republic, however, did not last for long because the military under the leadership of Major General Muhammadu Buhari seized the country four years later. A new republic was formed in August 1993 after Buhari was overthrown but was once again dissolved in November the same year by General Sani Abacha who passed on in 1998, leading to the creation of the fourth republic in 1999.

Language (s) Written & Spoken

Hausa was an official language of the northern states from 1951 to 1967. It is the most widely spoken language, although English is the official language of Nigeria. In addition to English, Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo, Fula, and English Creole are widely spoken. Many of the languages exist in written form.

Important Types of Commerce in Nigeria

Major manufacturing industries include rubber, wood, textiles, cement and other construction materials, food products, footwear, chemicals, fertilizer, printing, ceramics, steel, and shipbuilding and repair. Imports of manufactured goods far exceed sales of Nigerian products.

Language Services US and others will provide working with Nigeria

Although English is the official language in Nigeria, Hausa language service is important to consider when doing business in Nigeria as it is the major language used in the country. Individuals or companies in various sector such as Legal, Machinery and technologies, Business, Finance, Medicine, Advertising, communications, PR, Transport, Computer hardware and software, Science, Agriculture, Automotive, European Union Documents, Legal, Government, Industrial, Life Science, Retail, and Technology would require to indulge in professional translation to adapt documents expertly to and from Hausa.

Looking for a Hausa, English, Yoruba, Igbo, Fula, and English Creole translation company? Look no further. American Language Services (AML-Global) offers certified translations, native interpreting services, and turn-key localization solutions for any language. Call us today @ 1-800-951-5020 for further information, visit our website or for a quick quote click


Quick Quote